some channels flagged after applying bandpass

Got a calibration problem? Discuss it here.

Moderator: Mark.Wieringa

some channels flagged after applying bandpass

Postby xiaohui » Wed Oct 30, 2013 4:44 pm

I'm processing my CABB 16cm data.

After I copy the bandpass solution to the program source and run PGFLAG, I realise some channels have been flagged. Is this because there is no bandpass solution towards those channels?

Thanks!
Xiaohui
xiaohui
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 4:30 pm

Re: some channels flagged after applying bandpass

Postby ste616 » Thu Oct 31, 2013 9:32 am

Hi Xiaohui,

You are correct. If a channel is flagged for all visibilities on the bandpass calibrator, then a bandpass solution will not be produced for that channel, and no dataset using that bandpass solution will be able to use that channel.

You can get around this though by using options=interpolate in mfcal. This will try to determine - via a spline fit - a bandpass value for those channels with no good data.
cheers
Jamie Stevens
ATCA Senior System Scientist
ste616
Site Admin
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Paul Wild Observatory Narrabri NSW

Re: some channels flagged after applying bandpass

Postby xiaohui » Thu Oct 31, 2013 10:28 am

Many thanks, Jamie!
xiaohui
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 4:30 pm


Return to Calibration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron